Being involved in a West Palm Beach car accident can be a scary and overwhelming experience.
Being involved in a West Palm Beach car accident can be a scary and overwhelming experience. The aftermath of an accident can be chaotic and confusing. With so much going on, it is easy to say or do the wrong thing.
One of the best ways to avoid making a mistake that may cost you, if you file a personal injury claim is to be prepared.
Here you can learn three things you should never do after being involved in a car accident.
1. Waiting to Get Medical Treatment
Florida law states that you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of an accident. This is necessary to collect Florida PIP (personal injury protection) coverage.
The state of Florida requires all drivers to have $10,000 in PIP protection.
Failure to seek medical treatment within 14 days of a West Palm Beach car accident results in you being considered ineligible to collect this coverage.
If you do not get treatment within 14 days, it does not mean you cannot receive damages or compensation from the at-fault party for loss of income, pain, suffering, and other losses. However, it does mean the $10,000 liability benefit is forfeited.
2. Apologizing or Accepting Fault for the Accident
After the accident, it may seem natural to say “I am sorry” to the other person involved. This is true even if it is clear the accident was their fault.
While you may not mean anything by this, it can be taken as an admission of guilt. Because of this, it is recommended that you keep your conversations with other drivers and people at the scene to a minimum. This will help you avoid saying something that may be used against you if you file a personal injury lawsuit.
3. Giving a Statement to the Insurance Company before Talking to an Attorney
After being involved in a car accident, the at-fault party’s car insurance company will likely contact you and request a recorded statement. They will claim this is to help establish liability in the accident. The insurance adjuster you speak to will likely claim this is the company’s standard procedure or a requirement and that they must have a medical release and recorded statement to access your information.
When speaking to the insurance adjuster, they will likely seem polite and even as if they care about your situation. They are trained to do this, and you must avoid falling for this trap.
The insurance adjuster who contacts you is trying to collect information to use against you if you file a personal injury claim. Remember, insurance adjusters have been trained to gather as much information as possible from you. If you say the wrong thing or anything that can be taken as a confession, then the
insurance adjuster will likely use this against you to reduce your compensation amount or deny your claim.
Never talk to an insurance adjuster until you have spoken to a lawyer. You can also request that the adjuster speaks to your attorney, who can answer questions on your behalf.
Do not Wait to Contact a West Palm Beach Car Accident Attorney
You have rights if you are involved in a car accident in West Palm Beach. One right is to recover compensation from the at-fault party. Because it can be challenging to do this on your own, it is best to contact a personal injury attorney immediately if you are in this situation. Most attorneys offer a free initial consultation to discuss your claim and determine if you have a viable case.
Press Release Distributed by The Express Wire
To view the original version on The Express Wire visit 3 Things to NEVER Do After a Car Accident